Alty Things; Mage DPS And Some Random Stuff

I’m not sure if I’m a good mage or not. Admittedly, I’ve been playing gear catch up since I came back to raiding so not much was expected of me in the dps department. Now I’m almost on a par with the other raiding mage* in my guild and we are both arcane so I should be pumping out the same kind of numbers. But I’m not. I don’t know whether it’s luck (bone spikes/mind control/lag) or stupidity (panic at slimes/biting/spores) I’m normally in the top 10 of damage done, at least top 5 on a mostly stationary fight like Saurfang, but I still feel that maybe I could be better.

After reading Jaedia’s super post on how easy it was to use SimulationCraft, I figured I would give it a try and see if I’m really sucking, or is it just paranoia.

So Aya should be capable of about 9.3k dps. Which is not shoddy.

Well this was obvious

Two spells, which always makes me giggle ^^

Last time I raided, itΒ  was reset, but our RL had connection problems so we took the first 4 bosses in ICC. I checked our World Of Logs for the valid 3 bosses and this is what it came up with:

Marrowgar: 7th on dps, spiked once, spent lots of time getting out of flame etc. Movement heavy, which is never good.

Also I’m thinking it’s become a shorter fight since we’ve all got better gear.

Lady Deathwhisper: 11th on dps, on add duty for the melee dudes. MC’d I think.

DBS:Β  12th on dps, killing blood beasts (otherwise I get shouted at by officers) Without killing beasts, can get as high as 11k. But it’s the closest I’ve come to my supposed output of 9k.

Also my mirror images appear to be slacking progressively on each boss ><

Another interesting point is this:

At the beginning of a fight, I should be capable of doing 12k dps, which I have done in the past with all cooldowns blown etc. Simulationcraft then reckons I should be able to hit about 11k a few minutes later. I think this is not happenning because I have my cooldowns macroed to keys with my spells, which I’m using everytime they are up. I’ve been told this is the right way of doing things.

So what have I gained from trying this? Probably a more realistic view of how I should be performing with the gear I have rather than competing against the other classes. I know better gear will help me push higher dps, so that’s something to look forward to. I’m still not sure if I’m the best mage my guild has on offer, but at least I know I’m not totally crap.

*Since writing my intro, the other raiding mage and previous CL has returned from the depths of the horde as he missed raiding. We’ll see what this means for me and my loot >>

Ah, alts. I love all of mine! Most of my love has been aimed this weekend at Naora and Lucidique.

Naora is now sitting at 60 frosties and am still deciding what to do. I also changed her hair colour from white to purple. No screenie as can’t find any USB sticks and imageshack is refusing to play ball, much like many of my LFG heal groups this week. 2 healed Patchwerk for the weekly, with a similarily geared druid, it was a bit messy as I really have never healed him before. I knew roughly about healthpools and the lot and despite my fellow puggers arguements that that tactic was obsolete with the rise of tanks hp, a dk still died from hateful strike. I think a different class of healer might have helped as with 2 druids you are pretty much a) hotting b) spamming nourish c) praying and/or swearing.

I dusted off Aayame the lock for the weekly with my good friend from the guild. She managed a respectable 3k dps in bad gear and got a new pair of shoes out of it too.

Lucidique hit 78 today O_o I’ve done about 4 levels on her in about a week. Cleared a lot of Zul Drak, healed (!) the ampitheatre, hit 76, went to Sholozar and it was downhill from there. Even went 77-78 by levelling with no dungeons at all. I still enjoy the hodir chain, despite having done it 7 times and next is Icecrown, and the Ebon Blade, to open their vendor.

I had a long, hard think about pally healing and I just don’t think I’m confident enough to take it from the occasional 5 man to serious heroic business. So, her offspec is back to ret. At the start of my Stormpeaks questing, I even got her re glyphed and went to lolstorm some gnolls. I just couldn’t get it right, it felt weird not being able to easily take packs of 5-6 mobs and I was still using the mace and shield combo so my damage wasn’t burning them down fast enough. So prot she shall be.

2 dungeons tanked tonight; HOS and Gun Drak. HOS was mildly detrimental to my blood pressure and mental health due to the gogogogo and random pulling mentality of my pug. I’ve been there enough times to know to LOS the smaller pat groups and try to avoid pulling all 3 packs as it gets messy. Don’t even start me on the tribunal. Thankfully Celi was healing (had dragged him from his new love, Dragon Age: Origins) Gun Drak was fine, just a slightly strange dk but he mostly behaved and no one died.

Now added Zul Drak Sentinal and Artrius to my soloed list. Artrius was awkward as I was on the laptop and xperl bugged, so I couldn’t see my health plummeting. A lucky LOH and a more careful watching of target’s target meant it was easy after that.

A waiting 80 warrior /w me this after I soloed Artrius πŸ˜€

Plans for this week include raiding more with Aya, hitting 80 with Lucidique and more healing madness on Naora.

  1. When it comes to Marrowgar, if you stand stacked up on the melee, the fire won’t get to you. Less movement might increase your dps significantly. Also, if everyone is stacking on the melee, the only ones moving will be the tanks, which should help the overall dps. The tanks just might stress a little, but who cares, right?

    Also, if you look at simcraft, they assume near-perfect conditions. Any higher latency, movement, rng, etc. will lower you dps. Also, you might be missing some raid buffs if you have an unlucky raid setup. You have no idea how much it hurt when our boomkin took a break in my 10man. Until then, we just blew the melee out of the water and now it’s a much closer race.

    I haven’t played a mage at end level so this is only speculation: I have two mages with me in the raid group and they just destroy me in the first 30-45 sec but after the initial blast I usually catch and pass them. So maybe that’s what mage dps is like. Also, try not macro-ing your cds with spells. It may be more beneficial to wait for trinket/ring/cloak enchant procs.

    Hope this was slightly insightful πŸ™‚

  2. Thanks for the hints, they are helpful!

    We normally stack on 10 man but on 25 we tend to end up spread about (don’t know why we don’t use the same strat)

    I’m also going to try macroing POM (presence of mind) and arcane blast together as I read on EJ that you can get an instant AB before using the arcane missle proc.

    No 25 man on thursday so no chance to try it out yet!

  3. SimulationCraft is really neat. Admittedly I never really use it – but then I’m a tank so my dps is kind of… unimportant? πŸ™‚

    Well done soloing Altruis. See, I knew paladins were overpowered! πŸ˜›

    And Banibaq.. “The tanks just might stress a little, but who cares, right?” I take offense at that! *lol* I don’t like stress!

  4. Meh, I tank as well every now and then. It’s fun, although I have to admit I haven’t logged onto my warrior in quite some time. Maybe I should dust her off a little.

  5. @Saga Yeah it was fun soloing things for a change instead of getting my face eaten like normal! I also soloed some big ice guy in Icecrown, I forget which one

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

