My Archeology Grind; Or Destroying Your Soul, 1 Fossil Fragment At A Time

I’m a sucker for fun things in WoW. I’ve bought the sparkle pony, the moonkin, mini KT, the lot. I’ve spent time grinding Netherwing, Kureani, Sporregar for no other reason than mounts and vanity pets. Celin has bought me the path of Cenarius, party grenades, a hippogryph pet and more recently the Etheral Portal (fancy HS!) I thought archeology would be a nice thing to do when I had time, a relaxing way of getting non combat pets and items that I could do casually.

Replaces your hearthstone and looks cool

I don’t really know how I got so addicted to it. To being with I was using it as a way of levelling up when I couldn’t do quests (at 14k per find it wasn’t too bad) and when I hit 525 I had a few rares under my belt so I kept going. I knew that my time was still limited in the evenings, although we hadn’t started raiding, and spending hours in heroics really wasn’t an option, so I sort of became fixated on Tyrande’s Favourite Doll. It’s currently on a par with the first tier of raiding stuff so I figured if I can’t get gear through dungeons why not try for this trinket? How long could it take?, I foolishly thought.

It took me 2 weeks of farming Kalimdor (some time pre 525) in order to clear the 6 other rares (including 2 150 fragment ones) and I think maybe 3 of those were after 525. I finally got the trinket on 2nd January and it was my 110th nelf solve. I reckon I put in anywhere between 2-6 hours per day. As far as I know, I’m the only person in my guild with it, although some are farming it.

I actually screamed when it finally popped up

It really did become an obsession towards the end; I kept thinking “I can’t stop, one more solve and it could be the next” I know that I did get lucky in that it was only 110 solves.

There’s no denying it’s got an incredible amount of Intellect, and the fact it’s BOA makes my casters happy. I do forget to use it to restore the 4200 mana and you have to be careful you don’t break CC. It’s also confusing when you’re on T&V in Bastion as the AOE magic debuff that hurts shares the same animation and makes people panic (especially when standing in the tank group :P)

I’ll admit even I have some problems with the grindy nature. I’ve had many ‘discussions’ with people about how you aren’t forced to do archeology after they complained about the levels of some of the rares (mail head, cloth chest etc) I think Blizz made the right decision about them not scaling with level – we already have heirlooms. As far as I’m concerned those rares weren’t even that hard to get. It’s the ones with the incredibly low chance that are causing the problem. You invest time but there’s no guarantee you will get anything useful. As time goes on and the items become less powerful as we advance in gear, I think some of the bitterness people are displaying will go away. It’s that feeling of doing a secondary profession because you need the gear that makes people angry (and to a degree contradicts my point about how you aren’t forced into doing archeology)

Definitely creepy but good for confusing people

The other secondary professions had rare rewards (chef’s hat, recipes, turtle mount) but they weren’t as needed as the epic items are now. On top of that you were doing cooking/fishing to get something else primarily so they were a bonus, not the end result. I’m thinking that Blizz will have to make more changes, besides capping fragments. Perhaps they will up the rare chance once they aren’t useful in current content?

So what was next for me? I’d got lucky with the caster ring from Tolv’ir but no recipe from the canopic jar (2 opened so far) I decided Tol’vir was the way to go, but with a 10-12% spawn rate of digsites it is incredibly difficult. After a week of straight digging in Kalimdor, I had enough and went to both Northrend and Outland to bump up my rare count.

I love how you lose your name and become Honor Guard

I’m now 16/20, with 4 rares to go until Professor. I’ve seen the realm first guy with the title but no one else so it’s kinda exciting that I’m so close.

Rares I have found:

  • Tyrande’s Favourite Doll (BOA)
  • Ring Of The Boy Emperor (BOA)
  • Bones Of Transformation
  • Wisp Amulet
  • Scarab Storm Pendant
  • Bearded Nifflevar Axe (BOA)
  • Headdress Of The First Shaman (BOA)
  • Queen’s Azshara’s Dressing Gown (BOA)
  • Fossilized Raptor (Mount)
  • Relic Of Argus
  • Arrival Of The Naaru
  • Chalice Of The Mountain Kings
  • Kal’dorei Wind Chimes
  • Druid And Priest Statue
  • Highborne Soul Mirror
  • Fossilized Hatchling

The remaining 2 dwarf rares are a definite which leaves me with 2 more, probably the nerubian rares unless I get lucky with Zin’rokh/dwarf staff/tolv’ir something. I would love the bug mount but I just can’t farm tol’vir for a few days. I think it’s the prospect of more useless fragments – 1100 fossil and almost 1000 nelf ones just from Kalimdor alone.

Recommendations For Grinding Archeology

Get Archy. Apart from the excellent feature marking previous finds of each digsite on the mini map, the boxes that allow you to see how far you are through an item and solve it without going through the arch tab is a godsend. I mainly use it because of the distance counter, which shows me when I’m far enough away to be red, yellow etc

I also recommend Professor if you are going for Diggerest. It shows you how many commons you have left to discover for each race.

Stick to a continent if you are farming specific things:

Nelf  & Tol’vir – Kalimdor

Troll & Dwarf – EK

If you simply cannot take a continent anymore, move to another. I found it good to go solve some commons I didn’t have or try for the Outland and Northrend ones.

Fragments will never, ever be underwater, despite some maps covering a large body of a lake.

Fragments should not (after the hotfix) spawn outside the site area. If your telescope is pointing you outside, it’s actually trying to nudge you along one direction or another like so:

If it’s still pointing you outside, go do another nearby digsite and come back as it resets the digsite you were working on.

Remember that it’s RNG. There’s nothing you can do to make a rare item spawn. If it’s getting you down, take a break. The digsites aren’t going anywhere and you can always come back to it another day with a different mindset.

Good luck and pray the RNG favours you!

Surely must be uncomortable, even for ladies?

  1. I freely admit I haven’t had time for Archeology yet. I do want to do it, the time sink just kind of frightens me.

    Thanks for the tips though, when I do get started I’ll definitely use them!

    • @ Saga
      I don’t blame you lol. I didn’t realise how much time it would take up but now I’m this far I have to finish

  2. This is actually really useful – so thank you. I have to confess I find arch profoundly addictive. I just love useless crap. My wind chimes make me a public menace.

    • I’m glad you found it interesting! My only problem now is that I have 12 slots in my bag given over to the rares.
      I think the wind chimes are the cutest thing 😛
      I have been shouted at in raids, when it wasn’t even me, for using naga costume on a boss kill picture.

      I am getting a reputation for doing that kind of thing it seems.

    • Kotakh
    • January 31st, 2011

    I used to really want that Doll trinket myself…i’m now at 220 NE project completed without getting it and decided to go for the Darkmoon card instead.

    I might go back to archaelogy after…or i might now…idk yet.

    • Yeah I’ve seen reports that people haven’t got it after a crazy amount of solves. I was lucky I think in that respect.

      I’m taking a short break from arch cause my guild needs the fish feasts so fishing pools here I come!

  1. August 2nd, 2011
    Trackback from : Oooo, Shinies « Jaded Alt

Leave a Reply

