Alty Things; More Race Changes

Since Naora is gearing up reasonably well (9/12 on 25 man, 11th for 25 progression on server, two pieces of tier), I can afford to give my alts some love. The last time I blogged about them I had 1 85, an 84, an 82, 4 80s, a 75 and a level 16. Some weeks later I’m now in possession of 6 85s, 2 82’s , a 31, a 10 and a brand new level 1 hunter.

I hit 85 on my mage and quested to about halfway through TH for the guild achievement (ungrateful gits didn’t say much). I’m a bit stuck on her tailoring at 500,  despite the cloth gathering buff. My other alts hardly pick up any in comparison. Managed to max herbalism by the time I finished Deepholm. She’s gathering dust until I can decide which alt I really want to play at max. Also for some reason, she didn’t pick up a cloak to replace the heirloom one. Cloak pain like ICC all over again.

I had done a bit more on my pally and got out of Hyjal, pushed past Deepholm and into Uldum. Levelling as prot feels clunky and I imagine it would be worse were I not levelling with Celin on his BM hunter. Mining maxed (no surprises there) but blacksmithing ignored as I’ve only just hit 450 with it. I then switched to ret and hit 85 in Uldum.

I think I needed more enchanting  mats and I had begun doing the JC daily everyday so I took my priest to Vashj’ir. She blasted through the whole zone, cleared Deepholm in about 2 sessions of play and hit 85 in TH, helping dwarves (skipped Uldum, really don’t want 2 chars in the same zone – keep getting confused on pally because I did the quests on priest the day before and suchlike) I am actually very tempted to go holy at 85 because I like healing, but I haven’t healed on a priest for years. JC and enchanting maxed just these last few days which took a lot of gold and time.

I swapped my gnome for a worgen warlock because I wanted a max level worgen. It was quite strange as I didn’t change her name but I was always bit iffy about having a gnome character to begin with. She made fast progress and ended up 85 in TH as affliction (having swapped from demo at about 83)

I dusted off my DK and sent him to Hyjal. Specced frost as it was meant to be the easiest and died about 8 times in the starting part before going back to unholy. He was always, always unholy, even when it was a viable tanking spec in Wrath. I loved the idea of being an anti-paladin, spreading disease with an undead pet at my side. I think it was to add some variety to my overall alliance experience, as they are by no means the good guys, but they are the less dark and primal overall. I also decided that I could bear the male night elf model no more, so he is now a she, with electric pink hair. I was always disappointed that my male dk couldn’t have pink hair.

I specced my shaman elemental for the first time ever and sent her to Vashj’ir with Celin’s mage. Having a (fire) blast with her so far.

I also finally got out of the dreaded Northrend on my rogue. The last 5 or so levels were so completely boring and then I struggled at the start of Hyjal because I had only heirlooms and crappy blues.

The stacking guild perks plus heirlooms and rested means my baby worgen gets a level a week  just from cooking and fishing every day. I’ve spent so much time looking for spell before realising that she doesn’t get it for many levels (MOW, faeire fire etc) but she really is a machine when it comes to feral dps. I have duel specced her resto as I can’t seem to get away from healing.

For some reason I decided I don’t have enough herbalists and rolled a new lock, a dwarf this time, Camillenoire (another Clive Barker/Tortured Soul reference) I got her in the guild and although it’s weird without heirlooms, it’s not going too badly. Only died once when I took on too many troggs. I also felt like I needed an ally hunter, so Celin has rolled a draenei warrior and I have a draenei hunter, although they haven’t even been out of the starting zone.

I think I’m compelled to make more alts because I have levelled the others so fast. I expected that realistically I would perhaps have another alt at 85 by now, not 5 of them. I still can’t decide which one to play when I’m not playing Naora. I took both my priest and worgen through some normals (HOO and LCOT) but neither of them felt amazingly fun. I also had an argument with a priest healer over a staff in HOO, which left me feeling iffy about pugs again.

I’m enjoying healing and the challenges of Cata raiding (having worse gear than the other healers to boot). We’ve had a switch about with one of the paladins going shaman (we had 4 holy paladins) but I still remain the only resto druid. Last night was our first 25 man Atramedes kill, which sees us move up by one whole place on the server rank. We are also on a par with the 10 man (killed Atra on 10 man the night before!) and have been working on Cho’gall.

The only place I’m experiencing anything like burnout is in fact through playing the AH. Since the price for ore on my realm has plummeted, the competition is stiff in the gem and enchant market. The endless posting, reposting and undercutting is a never ending job some days so I’ve had to withdraw temporarily until some markets pick up again. I’m still making a good profit on flipping cheap blues and epics and the companion pet market is strong in anticipation of the new achievements in 4.2.

Finally, on a last amusing note, WE BROKE MAGMAW.

On the jumpy head phase, he went backwards instead of towards the raid, meaning no one could get near him. In the screenshot everyone is just stood around, like err, what now? Would have been a new record kill but for that 😛

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

